Review by Sid Love

TITLE: Destiny on the Tracks
AUTHOR: Drake Braxton
PUBLISHER: Dreamspinner Press
BLURB: While on business in a small town near Chicago, Wheeler Reynolds hears a tale about a traveling circus killed nearby in a horrific train wreck over ninety years ago. Haunted by the story, Wheeler falls asleep thinking someone is calling his name… and wakes up in 1918.

Wheeler believes it’s his mission to stop the accident from occurring until he meets Nicola Tenaglia, an aerialist for the circus. Time becomes his enemy as he quickly falls into a whirlwind affair. When they are discovered, events spin out of Wheeler’s control, and he and Nicola are separated. Then the train begins to pull away. Nicola’s time is running out…

REVIEW:

Time travel – a rather mysterious and amazing thing it is.

When I came to know this book was based on the time travel theory, I was very excited. I am a huge Doctor Who fan and I have been enthralled by the episodes shown in some good shows like Fringe or even Supernatural, that were based on this concept. But I haven’t even once read a book where time-travelling was used (except for the DW books). So, I don’t know why but I was kind of expecting something fun like that.

Well, I didn’t know I was headed for a disappointment with regards to the fun stuff. What I read was not really about time-travel. It only became a time-travel kind of novel because of one of the main characters gets zapped back in time to meet the love of his life. There’s no reason, no explanations, nada…

But, I wouldn’t say I regret picking this book for a read because if I hadn’t read this one, I would have missed out on a beautiful story!

This story is about Wheeler Reynolds (who is from the present) and Nicola Tenaglia (from the year 1918) – two men, who are brought together in impossible circumstances. Nicola works as an aerialist in a circus alongwith his brother, but he is tired of being in this business and wants out. However his brother being his only family, he never dares to leave. That is until, he meets a mysterious man named Wheeler and the world begins to look different with him in it!

When Wheeler is sucked back in past in the year 1918, he thinks he is there to stop a train wreck – that he had heard of – that had killed several people on it. However, when he meets a handsome young man Nicola, it becomes clearer that this was supposed to be his destiny! Especially, when he knows that Nicola could be on that very train. But can he stop what has already happened? Was that really the main purpose of him being in that year?

It is all smartly set up by the author and the ending will surprise you. Mind you though, this is a bittersweet dreams title, so don’t expect a typical happy ending. You might even need a fresh set of tissues.

Drake Braxton’s writing is nice – simple and flows very nicely. It engaged me for a good couple of hours and I refused to put my Kindle away until I was finished with it. The characters, I loved a lot. Nicola was my favorite. God! That one is so innocent and loving.

The book was perfect, except for the time-travelling bit. I wonder if that one was even needed here. Rather than focusing on that, the author should have simply focused on Romance, because that he handles it brilliantly. There are moments in this book that melted my heart and the dialogues are spot on.

Romance lovers, who don’t mind a bittersweet ending, should definitely give this a go!

Sid’s Rating:  four-stars_0

BUY LINK: Dreamspinner Press  ||  Book Store

 =====================================================

Check out all our recommended books in Sid Love’s eBook Store:
Recommended Books

(Support this site and buy the books from my A-store)

Comments
  1. Macky says:

    Great review Sid. Interesting concept. 🙂

  2. Really appreciate your review, Sid! Thanks for taking the time to read and share!

  3. […] this a go! If I hadn’t read this one, I would have missed out on a beautiful story!” – Sid Love MM Romance & […]

Leave a comment