Reviewed by Heather C.

TITLE: After the Fall
SERIES: Tucker Springs #6
AUTHOR: L.A Witt
PUBLISHER: Riptide Publishing
LENGTH: 54,000 Words
BLURB: After years of saving every penny, Nathan has finally managed to buy the horse of his dreams. He’s looking forward to a summer of exploring the Colorado mountain trails above Tucker Springs with Tsarina. But on their very first ride, a motorcyclist makes a wrong turn, scaring Tsarina into bolting and leaving Nathan with a broken leg, a broken hand, and a ruined summer.

Ryan is a loner and a nomad, content with working odd jobs before moving on to the next town. Feeling guilty for causing the accident that leaves Nathan in two casts, Ryan offers to keep Tsarina exercised until Nathan heals.

Despite their bad start, Nathan and Ryan soon become friends . . . and then much more. But with a couple of nasty breakups in his past, Nathan doesn’t want feelings getting involved—especially knowing that Ryan will never settle down. But since when do feelings ever listen to reason?

REVIEW:

Another great story from Tucker Springs.

Nathan’s dream has finally come true:  he is now the proud owner of a shiny new horse, Tsarina.  Then, after his first day taking her out on the trails, he is left with a broken leg (Ryan’s fault) and a broken hand (Nathan’s fault) and a horse with no one to ride her for the entire summer…until Ryan, a lonely, wanderer who never stays in one place for long, offers him a deal.

You may remember Nathan since he’s been around from the very beginning as Mike’s receptionist at his acupuncture clinic.  I was really worried that I wouldn’t like Nathan,  but he has changed a lot from the manwhore we all knew from previous books.  No, there is no whoring in this book; it’s just a very slow burning, sweet story…but not the kind of sweet that will rot your teeth.

I was really loving the first half of the story:  all the horse stuff and sexual tension was really working for me. Then, after they started having sex, very hot sex I must add, the story became all about the sex and miscommunications, and less about the horse and them getting to know each other.  I mean, neither man went into this wanting a long term relationship, so when things start to feel more important than either of them ever expected, what do you think they do?  I don’t think I need to spell it out for you.

Another big issue I had with the story was why was Nathan so scared to have sex with Ryan?  It was touched on briefly but it seemed to run much deeper than what had been told. I feel that if his issues would have been further explored, it could of added much more depth to the story.  Instead, it left me with the feeling that Nathan’s fears were borderline ridiculous and just there as a plot device to hinder the growth of his and Ryan’s relationship.  Ah, but it all wraps up nicely in the end.

I’m probably stretching by giving this 4 stars, but I really did enjoy it and couldn’t put the book down. It’s one of those stories I would’ve read all in one sitting if I wouldn’t’ve had to sleep and work.  It’s just still missing a little something…

This book is part of a series, but I still feel that they can be read in any order. Yes, there are brief appearances from previous MCs, but their stories don’t have any big importance to this plot.  I’m really hoping Brad and Jeff get their story told soon; even though I’m not a fan of reading about established couples, I still want their HEA.

Heather rates it – four-stars_0

BUY LINKS: Riptide Publishing

==================================
Heather C. is one of the official reviewers on The Blog of Sid Love.

To read all her reviews, click the link: HEATHER’S REVIEWS
==================================

Comments
  1. dani says:

    nice review Heather makes me want to read this series more and more!

Leave a comment